An introduction to the world of the Winged, Big Block Super Modified Racing

2023 Track Guide


ISMA/MSS supers ready to start a heat race at Berlin Raceway in 2022 (Jim Feeney photo)
ISMA/MSS supers ready to start a heat race at Berlin Raceway in 2022 (Jim Feeney photo)

A typical ISMA/MSS starting field includes a wide range of racecar drivers from experienced, savvy veterans to young up-and-comers trying to make a name.

Many of the veterans of the series include some of the most talented open-wheel racers in the eastern half of the United States and Ontario, Canada, including multi-time defending ISMA champion Otto Sitterly, second generation 10-time feature winner Mike Ordway Jr., and past champions Ben Seitz, Dave Shullick Jr. and Mike Lichty.

Other fan favorites include Canadian Mark Sammut, Star Classic winner Jeff Abold, former NASCAR Truck Series champion Johnny Benson Jr., former series champion Kyle Edwards and Ohio top guns Moe Lilje, Mike McVetta, Rich Reid and Trent Stephens.

The ISMA/MSS tour includes around a dozen franchise teams that will attend nearly every show. Similar to series like the World of Outlaws, local teams join the tour regulars at different tracks to make up impressive starting fields winged, big-block supermodifieds.


ISMA/MSS supermodifieds are the fastest short-track racecars in the world. Weighing approximately 1850 pounds and powered by methanol-burning, fuel-injected, big-block race engines pumping out 800 to 900 horsepower, an ISMA/MSS super reaches speeds in excess of 130 to 140 mph at asphalt ovals less than one mile in length.

Planted on a 20” Hoosier right-rear tire with loads of downforce from the air-strut adjustable top wing, an ISMA super can maintain cornering speeds that rival any racecar in the world.

Click here to learn more about an ISMA/MSS supermodified.


New York’s Otto Sitterly and Maine’s Mike Ordway Jr. were the stories of the 2022 ISMA series. In his second full season racing on the ISMA circuit, Sitterly drove his John Nicotra-owned Bodnar chassis to one feature win and consistent finishes throughout the season and capitalized on Ordway’s problems in the season-ending Star Classic to capture his second straight series championship.

Ordway, who led the points heading into the Star Classic, dominated much of the season with four feature wins (Oswego x2, Berlin Saturday and Sandusky Hy-Miler) but had bad finishes at the Oswego opener and the Friday Berlin feature to keep Sitterly within striking distance. Sitterly finished P4 in the Classic compared to Ordway’s P7, which was enough for Otto to overtake the Clyde Booth Racing driver in the final standings.

Only three other drivers won ISMA features in 2022. Ohio native, North Carolina transplant Trent Stephens captured his fourth career series win in the Oswego Winged Challenge opener in June.  2018 series champ Kyle Edwards won night one of the Berlin doubleheader in July, and New York’s Jeff Abold claimed his second career Star Classic victory at the season closer in September.

In 2023 ISMA has merged with the Midwest Supermodified Series (MSS) and will crown the first ever ISMA/MSS series champion.

WHERE IN 2023?

The ISMA/MSS tour normally visits a wide range of regions throughout the northeastern United States and Ontario, although the series hasn’t visited Canada since before the 2020 global pandemic. 

ISMA/MSS will return to Michigan's popular Berlin Raceway for another July doubleheader in 2023
ISMA/MSS will return to Michigan’s popular Berlin Raceway for another July doubleheader in 2023

The tour will head to western Pennsylvania for the season opener May 13 at Jennerstown Speedway Complex.

Ohio fans are served two weekends of ISMA/MSS super racing in summer 2023 with the Super Crown Nationals in June at Lorain Raceway Park and the annual Friday / Saturday Hy-Miler Nationals at Sandusky Speedway the last weekend of July.

Michigan’s Berlin Raceway is back on the schedule in 2023 with a doubleheader scheduled for Friday, July 14 and Saturday, July 15.

ISMA/MSS races in the Empire State on an annual basis, most notably at the Home of the Supermodifieds – Oswego Speedway in Oswego, N.Y. The series will visit Oswego three times in 2023 with Winged Super Challenge events taking place June 3, July 1 and August 12, all Saturday nights. 

The series will head to the North Country of Upstate New York to close 2023 with a new event — the John Burr Classic — at Evans Mills Raceway Park on Saturday, Sept. 16.


The 2023 ISMA/MSS series begins Saturday, May 13 at Jennerstown (Pa.) Speedway and closes with Championship Night Saturday, Sept. 16 at Evans Mills (N.Y.) Raceway Park. 


A love and passion for the sport of supermodified racing.

If you’ve never seen a winged supermodified race, what are you waiting for?!  Supermodified racing provides many of the greatest thrills in motorsports with some of the fastest wheel-to-wheel action fans will ever witness. Find the race closest to you and make plans to attend this season!