July 15, 2022 — Berlin Raceway (KYLE EDWARDS)

By Carol D. Haynes, ISMA PR; photos by Jim Feeney

Friday night ISMA / MSS Berlin winner Kyle Edwards
Friday night ISMA / MSS Berlin winner Kyle Edwards

MARNE, Mich. — Bartlett, Tennessee driver Kyle Edwards started the night with a torrid 13.88 time trial at the fast 7/16-mile Berlin Raceway, topped only by Mike Ordway Jr., who broke the existing track record with a 13.132 moments earlier. Ordway came away with $1,250 payday courtesy of Jim Valentine, Carl Miskotten, Jethro FM, MCU Body Shop, Michigan Int. Speedway, Travis Truck & Auto, Sweet Manufacturing and Wyrick Company, 8 sponsors in support of the weekend.

Ordway, coming off a record-breaking night at Oswego Speedway last weekend with a career first win and breaking the track record, looked to be the man to beat as he moved into first getting by Rich Reid early in the 40-lap event. The Clyde Booth driver, however, suffered oil pressure problems bringing out the yellow on lap 9.

Edwards, caught up to Reed in the attrition-filled race, passing on lap 13, and would run away from the field soon thereafter. The one challenger that moved in on Edwards was Otto Sitterly, who was closing up the gap around the lap 29 mark, but had fuel problems which sent him to the pits, leaving Edwards to cruise to the win. Only six of the original 16 starters were on the track when the checkered fell.

Saturday, July 16th the supermodifieds of MSS and ISMA return to Berlin for the second half of the two day show with a 60 lapper.

BERLIN RACEWAY ISMA / MSS 40: 1. KYLE EDWARDS, 11, 2. Trent Stephens, 19, 3. AJ Lesiecki, 88, 4. Mike Ling, 18, 5. Mark Sammut, 78, 6. Larry Lehnert, 7. Otto Sitterly, 7, 8. Moe Lilje, 32, 9. Johnny Benson Jr., 74, 10. Mike Lichty, 4. 11. Mike McVetta, 22, 12. Kevin Feeney, 5, 13. Rich Reid, 55, 14. Talon Stephens, 30, 15. Mike Ordway Jr., 16. Sawyer Stout, 8.

Heat winners: Trent Stephens and Mike McVetta.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *